Gardening, Photography & Home-Cooking are just a few of what I love doing!

Gardening, Photography & Home-Cooking are just a few of what I love doing!

Friday, December 27, 2013

Gold Theme Next Year

I went to Walmart earlier today hoping to score on some Christmas stuff. I was hoping for the 75% off of all Christmas items but I guess it was too early for it. Instead, they were offering 50% off. Although I didn't get the discount that I wanted, I did get some good deals on the Christmas ornaments. I'm so glad that I decided to gp early and not waited few more days for what I bought earlier would have been long gone if I waited!

Anyway, these beautiful golden and glittering butterflies, flowers, dragonflies, angels and bird that you see in the picture above are some of the stuff that I bought earlier. They were originally $1.48 each but with 50% off discount, they were only $0.74 each! It is such a wonderful feeling when you know that you are getting a good deal!

Anyhow, as you notice above, the ornaments are all gold, it's because, that will be our color theme for our tree next year! I can't hardly wait! I am planning on going back to Walmart, maybe next week. Hopefully, they'll have that 75% off and still have the good stuff left!

Wednesday, December 25, 2013

Merry Christmas And Happy New Year!


Just a quick post to greet my family and friends all over the world a very MERRY CHRISTMAS and HAPPY NEW YEAR! May GOD bring more LOVE, JOY and PEACE to this world!!

Monday, December 23, 2013

My New Year's Resolution For The Second Time

This is a Sponsored post written by me on behalf of The Low Carb Grocery. All opinions are 100% mine.

It is very disappointing and can be very depressing at times when you have set a goal and are unsuccessful. Last year, one of my New Year's Resolutions was to get back to my weight before I got pregnant with my second child. I tried exercising and eating less and the more I do it, the more hungry I get which led to more weight gain! I am truly disappointed of myself. I thought for sure that I could easily shed off the extra weight not having to do any special diets like I did after I had my first child!
But I guess I was wrong. And I think I know some of the reasons why I am not losing weight. First is because I am getting older and we all know that as you get older, your metabolism slows down too. That's why I try to exercise as much as I can to boost my metabolism but sometimes it is really hard, especially when I lose my motivation due to stress and other things that distract my focus. Another reason why my exercising is not really working I think is because, I am eating too much food high in carbs! I've craved so much Filipino foods and usually if I fix my native food, I always have rice with it! I tried substituting white rice with brown rice but they just don't taste the same.

Anyway, so I've decided that I will give it another shot and make it my only resolution this coming New Year! I am gonna have to make an extra effort and try harder to make it possible to get back in shape. My reason is not only so I can look good or sexy but I want to have energy and be healthy as well. I may have to do some kind of special diet to help me. If it is what it takes to help me lose weight, so be it.

Since one of my problems is eating food high in carbs, the first thing that I have to do is to change that by eating less carbs. One of the things that I've come across doing some research online about low carb diet is this PB2 Powdered Peanut Butter. This is not the first time I have heard about this product. So I clicked the link and brought me to the The Low Carb Grocery Store.

It seems like this online Canadian-based store offers low carb products that you can fix for breakfast, lunch, dinner and even snacks. Some of the low carb products they are offering are low carb pasta, low carb bagels, low carb breads, shirataki noodles, low carb snacks, low carb muffins, and low carb pancakes. And to be honest, their prices are very reasonable. I think I'm gonna try out their Powdered Peanut Butter first since my family and I loves peanut butter. What I love about this particular product is, it is powder-based which I can easily mix with other food!

So anyway, how about you guys, were you successful with your last year's resolutions? What's your New Year's resolution this year? If it's anything related to weight loss, why don't we try this low carb diet together? Visit The Low Carb Grocery Store  and try any of the products they carry to start the New Year healthy!
Visit Sponsor's Site

Saved By The Bell

I have been thinking of letting go of this blog. As you can see, my last entry on here was almost 2 weeks ago! I have been so busy lately that just I don't have time to update this specific blog. I have 3 more blogs that I am having hard time updating as well but I try to at least update them once or twice a week. This blog hadn't received any task or opportunity for a very long time plus I didn't really have that much to interesting stuff to post other than my cooking! I just don't have time to craft anymore or to paint. Being a mother of two is a full time job, not to mention that chores around the house to do!

Well anyway, yesterday I received some leads from one of the paid blogging sites that I am a member to. It has been such a long time since I have received any offers from them so I didn't really expect to get any offers. But surprisingly, this blog of all of my blogs got an offer! I decided to continue keeping it, this blog was definitely saved by the bell! I just got to make sure that I will update it at least once a week!

Friday, December 13, 2013

Dining And Coffee Table Centerpieces

Dining table centerpiece
This is what our dining table centerpiece looks like in the picture above. After trying out different designs, arrangements and Christmas accessories, I think I am gonna settle for this one! I think all dining tables should have some kind of centerpiece, don't you think? I think it looks more Christmassy when there is one! Hehe!

I also arranged a centerpiece for our coffee table but I have to put it up somewhere for my 2-year old wouldn't leave it alone! It is just not a good idea to put something out within reach by a toddler especially if it has something that might break and they could get hurt! So as much as I hate not to display the centerpiece for our coffee table, I'll rather just have it that way and better be safe than sorry!
Coffee table centerpiece

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Sopas

I made this Sopas last night or what would be a creamy chicken noodle soup in America! This is the second time that I made this dish. The first time I made it out of frozen mixed vegetables and leftover turkey since it was the only available in the fridge! This one that I made last night I got the recipe on internet but didn't follow the measurements! I just searched the recipe on the internet just to give me a clue of the ingredients and the procedures. I did my own measurements according to my liking and I guess I did a good job judging the taste for my husband and picky oldest son really loved the soup! I made a whole big pot last night and I only a couple of bowls, one for supper yesterday and one tonight but the pot is almost empty because my husband keeps going back for more! LOL! I love it when my family loves the foods that I cook!

FTFBadge

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Lighted Christmas Block


I so love this lighted Christmas block that my mother-in-law bought me for Christmas about 2 or 3 years ago! One of the parishioners in our church made this block to sell on a Christmas Bazaar to raise money for our church! The Women's Guild in our church which is I am also a member to, raises money for our church by having rummage sale, spaghetti dinner and Christmas bazaar. The Christmas bazaar is always our last fundraising activity in a year until the we do our rummage sale the next year. The money that we raised has been a big help for our church!

Anyway, we are having our Christmas bazaar this year next, next Sunday. I haven't been participating much because I have a toddler to take care of. But I am really looking forward to see all the crafts that some of the ladies in the guild made. We always try to make our own craft to sell and I tell you, a lot of these ladies are so good at it! Well you can pretty much see the evidence in the picture!

Monday, November 25, 2013

Make Something Out Of Unused Ornaments


I bought so much Christmas ornaments last year that I still have so much left. I already have our Christmas tree up but it is just about 3ft in height that it is already filled with Christmas ornaments. I couldn't used all the ornaments that I bought from last year's Christmas sale! I bought so much because we have a 7-ft Christmas tree but unfortunately we didn't have the space for now to put it in the house, so it's been sitting in our storage building for the past 2 years!. I love our 7-ft Christmas tree, we bought it brand new at Kmart over 3 or 4 years ago and we only used it twice! 

Anyway, I hated to see so much brand new ornaments sitting in the container unused ! So I decided to make something out of it which is pictured above. I call it ornament chandelier because it kind of reminds me of a chandelier. The first picture is what I made yesterday. I used 3 bamboo skewers to hold the ornaments. I tied it with ribbons to hold the skewers together and then used more ribbons to hand the ornaments! The second picture I made just this morning. I like it way better than the first one! The base or what's holding the ornaments is a Christmas wreath that I also bought on sale last year! I thought it was just perfect to hang those beautiful ornaments!

I still have plenty of ornaments left and I am planning on making some more of these to try to sell to our Christmas Bazaar for our church. My mother-in-law suggested it after seeing what I made the first time and she thought it was beautiful! These are actually very easy to make. You can use ribbons to hang the ornaments or fish line which I used in the second picture! ;)

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Filipino Foods That I Fixed On My Son's 2nd Birthday

My youngest son's 2nd birthday was last Sunday. As I mentioned before, I fixed some Filipino foods. It was just a very simple celebration with just family and a couple of friends and their daughter who lives about 5 minutes from us! Below are the said Filipino foods that I had fix. Everybody seemed to enjoy it including me although the Lumpia or Eggrolls which is not pictured was a big mess! I used a different wrapper which I won't be using again in the future! But everyone said that it was still good even though it didn't look too appealing at all!

Escabeche! Fish that I used was a big stone fish or what we call in the Philippines "Isda sa bato"! I paid $9+ for this piece at the asian store!

Lechon Kawali! Instead of deep frying it, I put it in the oven which turned to be as good as deep frying it plus there was no big mess from oil splattering!

Left pic is what we call in the Philippines "Humba" or Pork braised in brown sugar and vinegar and of course spices! Right pic is Sweet and Sour meatballs. I am not really sure if this is a Filipino dish but I always cook it because aside from it taste really good, it is also very easy and simple to fix. Frozen meatballs, sweet and sour sauce and pineapple chunks are the only ingredients and put it in the crockpot for 2 hours and voila!

Last but not least, Pancit-Bihon or Bam-i! Birthday is not complete without this dish! We have this beliefs in the Philippines that having some kind of pancit or noodles on birthday celebration will give the celebrant long life! I don't know if there is a truth to this or not but it's been part of our culture over there!

FTFBadge

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Christmas Card This Year For Free


I just ordered our personalized family Christmas cards for this year at Walgreen's online a few minutes ago and didn't cost me a single penny! You can get a 20 5x7 collage greeting cards for free right now if you like Walgreens page on Facebook and they will give you the code to enter at the checkout, value at $16.99! I love getting free stuff, don't you? Every year, I always personalized our own greeting cards to send to family and friends and I love that these cards this year didn't cost me a penny at all.

Anyway, if you prefer to have it ship to your house, it would cost you only $2.99 for standard shipping. I started choosing to have it ship to me but then I changed my mind. Why would I pay a penny when I can do a pick up at their store for free? I mean yeah the nearest store is about 30 minutes drive from where we live but I don't have to do a special trip just to get these cards. We are heading that way some time this week and that will be the perfect day to pick them up!

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Our Finished Family Turkey

Above is the finished family turkey of ours! This is my son's Thanksgiving project in school that we had to work together as family. Well, I ended up working on it by myself! My husband just doesn't have any interest in crafts like this and told me that he will just leave it up to us. My youngest son is too small to be part of it and my oldest son, instead of making the job easier, he was making it longer and wasn't really interested in participating on his own project! I really wanted him to participate, I mean he helped for just a few minutes and then lost his interest on it. So I just let it be, because I wanted it to be done and get it out of the way for I have other things to do.

My youngest son's birthday is this coming Sunday and I have tons of things to do before that day! So instead of insisting for my oldest son to help me do his project which would have taken longer, I just let him do his usual thing while I work on it. It's not the neatest nor the prettiest but I am satisfied with it and seemed like my son is too! The submission date would be Monday but I am gonna give it to my son to submit tomorrow so I won't forget Monday.

Anyhow, the materials that I used are gold paper doily on the back feathers, layered yellow leaves on the wings, red leaves on the face as well as the feet, egg shells on the body and I used glitter glue for the eyes and that skin hanging on the face, whatever that's called and dark glitter for the outline! It was kinda messy using the glues but overall, I enjoyed doing it!

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Family Turkey Project

Last week my son brought home a drawing of a turkey as their project at school for Thanksgiving. We have to work on it as a family project! We have until Monday to submit it and I just started working on it earlier! I only worked on the outer feathers, and what I did was cover it with a gold paper doily that's been sitting in a craft box for how many years! 

At first, I didn't have a clue as to what to do and then suddenly the idea just popped in my head to use the doily when I saw it! Anyway, our family turkey is not yet finish, so please do not judge! LOL! We still have plenty of time before the submission date so we are gonna take our time to make it look nice or decent..


Thursday, November 7, 2013

Yo Gabba Gabba Theme

{Image NOT MINE!}
This year for my son's second birthday, I decided to do a Yo Gabba Gabba theme since it is one of his favorite shows. I can put on the Yo Gabba Gabba show and he can watch it for hours. Sometimes it is a big help to me especially when I am trying to finish something around the house or online!

Anyway, it is not gonna be a complete set like from the plates, cups, napkins, hats, balloons or things like that. I only picked out some like this wall scene setter and banner. It would be nice to have a complete theme but I was not willing to pay that much money when we will only use it one time. Besides, it is just us and a couple of friends with their daughter and she's not even old enough to enjoy it! By next year, he'll probably be able to pick his own theme, so probably won't be using this theme again!

Anyhow, I am also doing a Yo Gabba Gabba picture cake. I found this nice pictures of the characters online that I am planning to print and do a picture cake with my son's picture as well. I am pretty sure that he is going to love his birthday cake! Too bad that the Yo Gabba Gabba party stuff are not available at Walmart! It would have been much easier and probably cheaper if I could have bought the stuff at Walmart but I have to order them online!

Well, this is just a one-time event each year so I want it to be special for my son. He won't remember much of it but he will be able to look back by the pictures that I will be taking! :)

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

The Menu On His Second Birthday

I always like to cook Filipino Foods on my kids birthday. I want them to know somehow that they are that special to me to go through all that trouble when we can just easily go out to celebrate their birthdays. But I always prefer fixing them Filipino foods on their  birthdays at home although it's not much and we do not really invite a lot of people. Just us and a couple of friends who lives nearby...

Anyhow, my youngest son will be celebrating his 2nd birthday in less than 2 weeks. I already planned out what I will be fixing on that special day and these are:

  Pancit-Bihon or Bam-i

 Escabeche

Humba
 
 Lumpia or Eggrolls

 Sweet and Sour Meatballs

 Lechon Kawali

These pictures above were all the foods that I made from previous occasions. I thought it would be nice to have pictures included! Seeing those foods is definitely making me hungry!!! I have been trying to control myself not eat too much due to some weight gain but when that day comes, I do not know what the word "DIET" means! LOL! 

Anyway, I am very excited for my son's birthday! I have not yet bought his presents but I am getting ready to do it after this post. So see you all later and you all have a great day!

Friday, November 1, 2013

Chicken Stir-Fry In Pineapple Juice And Sweet And Sour Sauce

This is what I fixed for supper tonight and it is my very own recipe. I call it Chicken Stir-Fry in Pineapple juice and sweet and sour sauce! It is very easy to fix, just like you're making a stir-fry. The veggies in the picture as you can see above are carrots, broccoli, onions, red and green bell pepper which were all fresh! I probably added about a pound of chicken breast which I cut in cubes. I also added pineapple chunks, well it's not fresh, it's from a can and added some of the juice to it to sweeten it a little bit. And to finish the recipe, I added half of a jar of sweet and sour sauce and simmer it for about 6-8 minutes just enough to thicken the juice!


FTFBadge

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

The Time Is Right to Buy a New Car

People buy new and used cars from Hendrick Buick GMC Cadillac for various reasons. Some people do it because they are seeking comfort and reliability. A long commute to work in an average car doesn’t seem like a big deal at first. Then the miles and hours begin to add up and being stuck in an uncomfortable vehicle can become torturous. Every second of discomfort is a moment of your life you can never get back. The longer the commute the more benefit you will reap from driving a car that is reliable and comfortable. While luxury cars are more likely to be comfortable and reliable, those aren’t the only reasons people choose them. Everybody loves a little attention. Strangers and friends alike will be more likely to gawk at your new luxury car in envy. The look of the car on the outside gives a preview to the comfort and performance on the inside. Non luxury cars can also be a great way to handle all of your transportation needs. Your daily driving habits should determine your decisions when buying a new car.
 
Trade in Your Frustration for Happiness

Sometimes people get very frustrated with their vehicles. This is a good sign that it is time to find an updated means of transportation. Frustrated drivers are not at the top of their game. Save yourself from the repeated frustration of your automobile breaking down. Give it up for trade and find a vehicle that keeps your spirits high whether you are on the way to work or going to a social gathering.
 
Know Before You Go Test Drive

Hendrick Buick GMC Cadillac has a wide selection of vehicles. Whether you’re searching for an inexpensive and safe car for a new driver or something a little more luxurious and prestigious to enjoy for yourself, you will find what you need. Make a list of the features that would be included in your perfect vehicle. Are heated seats something that could make or break the deal for you? How about massaging seats? In what kinds of safety features are you most interested? Take a good amount of time to think and then test drive your dream car!

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Making A New Meal Out Of Leftovers!

One of the things that you can do to save some money on grocery is by making a new meals out of leftovers! Good thing that my family is not picky when it comes to eating leftovers. I don't see anything wrong with it. If you get tired of eating the same thing, you can simply make a new meal out of it. There are tons of recipes on the internet that you can search on how to make a meal from leftovers.

Anyway, we always have leftovers after supper. Usually we eat it for lunch the next day. If there is still left for the next day and my family is tired of eating it, I just make something new out of it. Just add a couple of new ingredients and voila! I've known people who are very picky when it comes to eating leftovers. That's well and fine but in this day and time where everything is so expensive and economy is not doing well, I just couldn't afford to waste food like that!

Friday, October 25, 2013

Craving For Binignit! A Diet Buster!

The other night for some reason, I just started craving for "Binignit" (not sure what is the English or Tagalog term for it). Good thing I have all the necessary ingredients to make it, so even though it was almost midnight and didn't really feel like cooking anything, I went ahead and made it. When I get to start craving for something and knows that I have all the ingredients, I won't be able to stop thinking about it, so might as well make it and get it over with!

Anyhow, picture above is what I made the other night! I didn't really make that much, just enough to satisfy my craving. Although I made this rule not to eat anything after supper so that I don't gain anymore weight, sometimes I just have to break that rule! It really sucks sometimes knowing that I am kind of helpless when it comes to craving for certain kinds of food!

Well after I had a bowl or two, I exercised if off and was hoping that it didn't add another pound on me and glad to see the next that it didn't, thank goodness! Now that I am off my birth control, maybe I have a better chance of losing weight coz I really think that my birth control was the main reason why I couldn't lose weight!


FTFBadge

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

We Need A New Water Filter

I have been looking for water filters online to replace for the one that we have. It's been needing replacing for a while now. I do not like the taste of the tap water. Aside from it taste so much better when it comes out of the filter, it also gives me a peace of mind knowing that anything harmful that is in the water is filtered out!

I always feel safe and for my kids to drink directly out of the sink when there is filter on it. Our water comes out from a well but you just never know what's in it and using some kind of water filter system is always a good idea!

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

To-Do Crafts With My Boys

I bought these Build and Grow School Bus and Monster Truck kits for my two boys at Lowe's over a month ago and I haven't had the chance to build it with them. My youngest son is so mesmerized with the school bus that every morning, he'll wake up early so that he can go with us to the bus stop! When I saw the School Bus kit at Lowe's I knew I just had to buy it for him.

I really need to dedicate a time to do build these kits with my boys. It would be a good activity for them plus my youngest son will have another toy that might occupy him for a minute or two! LOL! He really loves the bus! His birthday would be next month and I already found the perfect gift to give him and yes it's a bus from PlayMobil! I can't wait to see his reaction once he open this present! :)

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Prayers For Those Who Were Affected By The Earthquake!

I am asking for a little favor for those who are stopping by and reading this blog to take a few minutes of your time and say a little pray for my fellow Filipinos in the Philippines who were affected by the 7.2 magnitude earthquake last night! I found this prayer on the internet, The prayer, from Pinoy Catholic, states:

Oh God our Father:
In faith we acknowledge Your paternal care over us, Your sons, daughters and children. In hope we trust in Your divine providence of giving us wisdom and courage as we face the challenges in life. In love we invoke Your help and guidance during these difficult days of death and destruction in our dear country.
Our is a prayer of thanksgiving for once again reminding us that ours is an imperfect world, that heaven is not on earth, and that nature every now and then tells us not to abuse her. Ours too is a prayer of repentance for calling upon You when we are in need and desperation but forgetting You in favourable times and pleasing occasions. Ours as well is a prayer of petition as we say:
Grant eternal peace to those who lost their lives. Embrace the children who died in their innocence. Help those who are hurt and cure those who are sick.
Encourage those who suffer the destruction of their homes and properties, and to once again stand up and rebuild their future.
Bless all those who extend their helping hands to those in need of food, shelter and clothing, who share their time, talents and resources with others.
Inspire more people to be men and women for their neighbors, convinced that the more they are for others, the taller they stand before you.
Spare us please from other natural disasters and devastations if this be according to Your will and for our own spiritual good and growth.
All your thoughts and prayers are very much appreciated! Thank you!

Friday, October 11, 2013

Pinakbet


Pinakbet is a Filipino dish that is made of varieties of vegetables stir-fried together. In the Philippines, we usually cook it with a little strips of pork and shrimp paste. But when I cook it here, I do not put shrimp paste because first, I don't have it in stock, but even if I did, I still wouldn't put it because my family wouldn't it due to the smell!

Anyway, the Pinakbet pictured above I made a week ago! As you can see in the picture, it had some squash, okra, snap peas, eggplant, onions, broccoli and pork. As expected, my husband loved it but my kids didn't care for it too much especially my oldest one! We have hard time making him eat vegetables! But I am not even gonna worry about it, eventually, he'll learn how to love veggies when he realize how good it is for him!


FTFBadge

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Handprint Impression As Keepsake

Picture above is an impression of my oldest son's handprint when he was just 2 years old! My oldest son is now 7 years old, so the impression is about 5 years old! We bought the kit at Walmart. They have different ones 5 years ago but this one, appealed to me the most. It is very easy to do and this is a good way to preserve memory!

Anyway, my youngest son is turning 2 years old next month and I am definitely gonna do one for him! I haven't checked Walmart if they still have this kind, hopefully, they still carry it because I want the same one as my oldest son! The other day when I put my youngest son's hand on top of the impression, it actually looked like it was his handprint! So it is definitely time to do it! Next time I'm going out this will be on top of my list to get!

Friday, October 4, 2013

Pork Apritada

Pork Apritada or Filipino Pork Stew is what we had for supper tonight. It really makes me so happy when my family enjoy the food that I cook. It was just a simple meal, we only paired with white rice but it sure satisfied my family which put a smile on face. So glad that my picky oldest son enjoyed it too. We didn't have to tell him many times to finish his supper which is the usual scene at the dinner table almost every suppertime! It was so nice for a change!

FTFBadge

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Planted More Tulips For Next Spring!

A week ago when I went to Walmart, I happened to stopped by at the garden center and started looking at their flower bulbs. I found these very pretty, seems like a cross-breed between Lily and Tulips, the flower are really pretty in the picture, so as a big flower-lover that I am, I bought a pack for next Spring. I already planted them several days ago. Spring bulbs are supposed to be planted in the Fall right before the first frost!



Anyway, I am very excited about my newly planted bulbs to bloom in Spring, that is if they don't die before that day comes! With that being said, one of my mother-in-law's dog has been digging my garden bed where I planted the bulbs. It makes me really upset that I work so hard planting those bulbs and even added more potting soil in the garden bed it only take for this dog a few minutes to ruin it! Yesterday I caught her trying to dig in again after I had already fixed it the first time! I was scolding her which I doubted very seriously that she understood me for when I woke up this morning and went outside to take my son to the bus stop, there's my garden bed all torn up again, dirt is everywhere and my bulbs were dug out! Talking about mad!!! I was cussing like a sailor, that's how upset I was!

I haven't fixed it yet! I want to show it to my mother-in-law what her dog did to my garden and besides she's bringing a fence to put around it, hopefully that will keep the dog from digging in my garden again!

Friday, September 27, 2013

Professional Investment Adviser

Sometimes there are things in life that we are not able to do ourselves. Even people who are extremely smart seeks help to other people because there are just certain things that they are not capable of doing on their own. An example of this are professional investment advisers. They are there to help an individual or companies make the right decisions in terms of investing their money in the right line!

When choosing the right investment adviser, first thing you have to look at is the experience! So when it comes to experience, I could not think of anybody other than Scott Gelbard! He works as an independent adviser working for so many companies across North America, Europe and Asia! Scott Gelbard has all the experience an individual or a company would need. He would be a smart choice for anybody who is looking for a professional investment adviser!

Sunday, September 22, 2013

First Day Of Fall

Yeppeeyyy! Today is officially the first day of Fall! Is anybody else excited about it? I know I am, can you tell? LOL! Not only I am excited to the much cooler weather but as well as the beautiful colors when trees starts turning into that Fall foliage! I feel so lucky that I live in the mountains where I will be able to enjoy that breathtaking view! I am also looking forward for my second grader's field trip, it almost about that time.

Anyway, I hope you are all enjoying the beautiful first day of Fall. Hopefully, there will be more days like this ahead! ;)

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Saging Turon Or Fried Plantain Banana Wrapped In Eggroll Wrap Coated In Brown Sugar

Saging Turon or fried plantain banana wrapped in eggroll wrap and coated with brown sugar is one the popular afternoon snacks that we have in the Philippines, or at least when I was still there. It's been 8 years since I left my country land so I do not know if it is still popular there!

Anyway, the other night was the first time I had try fixing it and it turned out pretty dang good. I am not so crazy of the eggroll wrapper that I used though because it is a lot thicker than the ones that I am accustom to! But it is the only kind that is available at our local grocery store so I don't really have that much option. I remember they used to have those thin wrappers at the asian store but the last time that I was looking for it, they didn't carry it anymore and only have the ones that's refrigerated like the ones at the grocery store!

Anyhow, this is very easy to make! For those who would want to try it out, first I cut the plantain banana in half and then split it in the middle long ways. Put the split plantain banana in the middle of the eggroll wrapper and roll just like you're making an eggroll. I then rolled it in brown sugar and fried the already wrapped plantains in hot oil in the pan. When it starts browning and sugar is melting, turn on the other side, brown just like the other side and then voila! There's you a yummy afternoon snack just like back home!

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Tummy Has Been Happy All Day!


Yesterday, my husband and I went to the UPS's main office about over an hour drive from where we live to pick the package that had been mistakenly addressed by the sender. While we were there, I remembered one of my friends who lives about an hour from us telling me the other day about the new Asian store that is actually much bigger than the one where I buy Filipino products. I asked my husband if the place is nearby and so happy to find out that it was just a few miles from where we were. So I told him that I want to check it out and there we went!

It was indeed a much bigger store and actually their items are much cheaper! I was one happy shopper seeing all the different goods that were in there, although I didn't really buy much. I bought a couple of Pancit Canton, Crackling's Salt and Vinegar, almost two pounds of Budburon or Galunggong fish and Bittermelon, a pack of daing and a pack of Longanisa!

So since yesterday, my tummy has been so happy eating all these goodies! I know I would regret it after all of these good stuff are gone but I will worry about it when they're all gone. For now, I am just a one happy camper to be able to taste these good filipino foods!

Anyway, pictures above are what I have been eating all day. First pic was what I had for breakfast and it is the Longanisa, sauteed bittermelon with eggs and of course rice! For lunch, I fried the Budburon or Galunggong fish and paired with rice and leftover bittermelon. These foods are simple but it surely tickled my soul for the fact that it is a comfort food for me from where I originally from!  :)

Friday, September 6, 2013

Sauteed Yard-Long Beans Or Batong

It was so nice of one of my friends to share her Yard-long beans or what we can in Cebu "Batong" with me and my other friend. These were freshly picked from her mother-in-law's garden! She gave me some seeds from last year but I didn't plant any this year for my husband planted some other variety of beans and he didn't want them to cross-breed. Next year, I will make sure that I will plant a bunch for I love these beans and this is one of the Filipino veggies that I am used to eating back home!

Anyhow, as you can see in the picture, I sauteed mine and of course paired with white rice along with some boiled okra that came straight from our little garden. Okra is also one of my favorite veggies! I love to boil mine and dip in vinegar! Hmmm hmmm! I can eat it everyday if only I have all the supply in our garden!


FTFBadge

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Simple But Cute Bi-Color Flower Nail Arts

While I was waiting for my youngest son to potty, out of nowhere, I decided to start painting my nails. I always like to have some kind of prints on my nails. To me, it look so much better and fun to look at than with just plain solid colors. So I decided to do another flower nail arts, but this time, the petals are bi-color as you can see in the picture above. This is very simple to do but yet very cute or at least in my opinion! 

Anyway, for the base color, I decided to do green. I added two coats so the color will show more. For the flowers, as you can see above, I chose the color black for the middle of the flower so the flower itself will pop out more once it is done. I dotted all my nails in the middle with the black nail polish first,then added the petals with yellow color first! When I added the second coat with the color red this time, I made sure that the dots on the red is a lot smaller than the yellow, so you can still see the yellow petals after putting the red one! It's that simple! ;)

Saturday, August 31, 2013

Pork Ginaling


This "Pork Ginaling" is what we had for supper tonight. I am actually missing some ingredients but it was still good. I added some celery in it too since we had some in the fridge. I thought it turned out good and not only me but my family seemed to love it especially my mother-in-law.

She is really starting to like all the Filipino foods that I fixed, she is getting use to it for sure! Before, she used to be very hesitant to try the food that I fixed for fear that it might have some weird ingredients in it that some people consider not edible but I think she knows now that it's not all that bad! :)

FTFBadge

Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Why Kids Are Afraid of Dentists and How to Help

Let’s face it, kids are not the only one afraid of going to Palm Bay dentists. There are plenty of people of all ages afraid to go and see the dentist. However, it does not have to be that way for your children. Once you understand why kids are afraid of the dentist, you can help change it. Giving your kids a chance to overcome their fear of the dentist will be something they will be grateful to you for the rest of their life. 

The Fear of the Dentist
 
Kids are naturally curious about the dentist. Before they ever go to an actual dentist appointment, they are curious and may even be excited to go to the dentist. However, once in the office, a simple cry from another child while they are waiting in the lobby is enough to begin that fear. Of course, having a personal experience of dental work on bad teeth, which can cause pain, is enough to scare them for good. However, this is fear that can be avoided with the proper preparation.
 
Make Your Child’s First Trip to the Dentist a Field Trip
 
One way to help a child and their feelings toward a dentist is to make sure their first trip to the dentist is fun. This may mean that you take them on a field trip, where they will meet the dentist, sit in the chair, and learn about dental hygiene. This is best done at a time when there will not be other screaming children there. Of course, it is good for them to get a toothbrush, stickers, and other fun things from the dentist. This starts their relationship with a dentist off in the right way.
 
Dental Hygiene Is a Vital Key
 
One way to ensure your child will not be afraid of the dentist is to make sure they are doing everything they are supposed to do in relation to their dental hygiene habits. If they are brushing, flossing, and doing all they should, they will most likely not have cavities. This means the checkup will be only that. If there is no pain associated with the dentist, there is no fear. Palm Bay dentists will thank you for helping your child avoid a fear of going to see them.

Simple DIY Nail Arts



Doing nail arts are what I've been up to these past few days. For some reason I am just in the mood to do it. They are really very simple to do, well except for last one, it was kinda hard to do flowers on its stem with leaves! I know it's a mess! LOL! But I thought of trying it out to see what it looks like and it's not too good!

But anyway, the first two designs are very easy to do! The flower design, all I did was do the center first and then work all around for petals. The dog print is basically the same thing except that I only put three toe-nail prints on top!

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Kids, Cookies, Memories, and Losing a Segment of Society

Although there are plenty of people around who still remember the 1950s, many alive today did not live during that time. It is a foreign concept to most kids today that their mother would have warm cookies and milk at home for them when returning from school. However, that was common in the 1950s. Today, far fewer mothers are able to stay home during the day. Many moms are forced into the workforce in order to help provide the financial needs of their family. It is a sad reality of the society we live in today. Gone are the days of coming home to warm cookies and milk with mom. However, that does not stop moms from being creative. For example, some will buy an assortment of gourmet cookies from places like www.cookiesbydesign.com and have them delivered to the home for their children to have when they come home from school.
 
Making Cookies and Memories Anyways

Although many moms cannot be waiting at home with warm cookies and milk when their children return home from school, many moms understand the value of what that does and why moms of earlier generations did it. Having cookies with the kids is a chance to make memories. It is also a chance to talk about the day, and how things went. Even though it may not be right after school, many moms are making cookies at night to have with their children. Any time with children is valuable, and it is worth making cookies at any time possible. Moms today are strong women that understand the role they now must play.
 
Why Kids Love Cookies

Kids love sweets of any kind. Cookies fall into this category. However, it is not just the taste of the cookie kids love. Kids love the memories that come with cookies as well. For example, think back to a Halloween or a Valentine’s Day when you were in elementary school. Chances are you remember frosting a sugar cookie with pink frosting on Valentine’s Day and orange frosting on Halloween. That cookie you decorated is tied to the memories of what that holiday was for you as a kid. The method may be changing, such as ordering cookies from places like www.cookiesbydesign.com, but the reasoning is the same.

Monday, August 26, 2013

Second Harvest Of The Green Beans

We harvested our green beans this afternoon for the second time. Picture above is actually the first harvest, I didn't get to take a picture of the second harvest today but we pretty much got the same amount this time as the first harvest. This variety of green beans is called "Greasy Short Cut". It is my mother-in-law and husband's favorite variety of green beans.

Anyway, my mother-in-law took the harvested beans home with her so she can cook it tomorrow or in a few days. My husband prefer her cooking it for she can really cook it good! She was also the one who fixed the first harvest. I don't know how she does it but she definitely have the magic touch when it comes to cooking these beans!

Friday, August 23, 2013

Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana

If you're a frequent diner at Olive Garden, you probably have tried their soups there. We do not go out to eat often but if we do go there, we always go for their unlimited soup, salad and breadsticks. Aside from it is the cheapest meal on their menu, their soups are really excellent. My mother-in-law and I's all time favorite is the Zuppa Toscana. I love the creamy soup with a little hint of spiciness in it from the red pepper flakes. My husband's favorite is the Pasta E Fagioli.

Anyway, it has been such a long time since we've been there. About a month ago, I fixed my husband his favorite soup there which is the Pasta E Fagioli. You can easily find the recipe online and it is very easy to fix. So since I fixed his, I decided to treat myself and my mother-in-law by fixing our favorite Zuppa Toscana soup which is pictured above, again, recipe can be found all over the internet. Of course we paired it with breadsticks not homemade though, and a homemade salad! It was like dining in at Olive Garden but without paying the high price plus we got plenty of leftovers!


FTFBadge